Configuring a New Channel Configuring a New Channel

Configuring a New Channel

Product Team Product Team

When configuring your channel, you must first set your channel title.

07-channel_config-.png

You can edit this at any time in the future by selecting the Edit Channel Configuration in the channel card on the All Channels view.

83-edit_channel_config_icon.png

This view is also where a specific Start At or Stop At time for your channel is set. Setting a Start At time for your channel will allow you to set the desired start date and time for your channel to begin broadcasting. This date and time must be at least 30 minutes into the future, and this date must be entered in order for you to publish your channel. 

Setting a Stop At time for your channel will allow you to set a specified date and time for which your channel broadcast will end. This date and time must be at least 30 minutes into the future. This is particularly useful when wanting to stop broadcasting early. 

Once a channel is in an on-air state, you will also be able to stop a broadcasting channel at any time by selecting "Stop Channel". See also Channel States.

07-channel_config_stop-channel.png

Before ending your broadcast, you'll also be prompted with a confirmation message to ensure you do not accidentally end a broadcast early.

07-channel_config_stop-confirm.png

You’ll be able to set a fallback slate using any of the videos in your library by selecting the dropdown and searching by title. The dropdown list will automatically appear in duration order, starting from shortest duration and proceeding to longest. 

08-fallback_slate.png

A fallback slate must be set in order to ensure any gaps in programming are filled by default, however if you choose not to set a fallback slate, your viewers will see the Zype-branded fallback slate for the duration of any program gaps. This slate can only be set within Playout 2.0’s UI and API, and cannot be set for your channel through the Zype CMS. 

To save all channel configuration settings, select Save. Any updates made will be applied instantly and automatically to your channel.

07-channel_config_save-.png

After you have configured your channel settings, you'll want to enable destinations for distribution of your channel. Continue to Channel Destinations.